Catching Up

I know, I know.  It’s been a while since I updated this.

On the medical side, more good news.  Besides my last PET scan, my doctor discussed my having another brain scan, since the PET scan only covers from the neck down.  I had that done, and my doctor emailed me the results from Hong Kong where she was on vacation.  All clear again.  I also had my first mammogram since this all began, which was also clear.  So there is No Evidence of Disease (NED) at this point, which is a great feeling.  I will keep on a quarterly PET scan schedule for the next two years, and brain scans every six months.  Dr S told my husband to watch me to see if I started having any mental confusion or brain type issues.  We got a good laugh over that.

There are, however, still side effect issues that I’m dealing with.  The neuropathy (numbness and tingling) in my fingers and my feet doesn’t seem to be fading as quickly as I’d like.  I think that there is some progress, but it’s hard to tell.  Closed shoes are still hard for me and I’ve pretty much been living in one pair of slip-ons, but at least I have my fingernails now and typing is back to being easy for me.  My hair was kind of two lengths with the full hair loss during chemo 1 and the partial loss during chemo 2, but I got a new haircut (yay!  There’s enough to cut!) and I’m very happy with it.

My big excitement was my trip to the Midwest. I flew out to Detroit and was picked up by my old roommate Debbie (who has been an absolutely amazing support throughout all of this) and brought back to Toledo, Ohio, to spend a week with her and her family.

We kept things low-key, but still managed to see a lecture, spend a few days at the lake in Michigan, share some nice meals with some of her interesting friends, hit the candle and knitting stores, and see a football game from box seats at the University of Toledo (Go Rockets!). We also had lunch at one of the places that Katie Holmes frequents when she’s home in Toledo, but alas, there was no sighting that day!

From there I took the train to Chicago.  The only bad part was the 6:15 am departure, but it was an inexpensive, relaxing way to make the 4.5 hour trip. The sun coming up over the misty farmlands was an amazing sight.

My son picked me up from the train station, then we took the El back to his place in the Wrigleyville section of town.  I wasn’t up for much sightseeing this trip, but I had a great time catching up with some of his university friends whom I’d met before, as well as meeting some of the new people he’s met in Chicago.

Chicago is definitely a food town, and we had meals at some wonderful places, including my son’s favorite coffee shop and a place that is very into locally sourced food.  Also, I can now say that I’ve had authentic Chicago style pizza.  It was delicious.

Then home again, where my husband and youngest son had been holding down the fort.  I’ve been busy catching up with people, and with helping my sister (she of the infamous head shaving day) who is running for a local office.  The whole election thing is quite exciting and a lot of work.

For those of you who are still reading this, thank you.  I feel (and am told that I look) great, and every day I feel a little stronger.  My doctor told me to stop looking at statistics and to get on with living my life.  She does want me to keep my stress levels down, so I am doing a lot of thinking about whether or not I will go back to work.  In the meantime, I am healthy and happy, and feel that I have finally made the transition from cancer patient to cancer survivor!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catching Up

  1. Grace says:

    Wow, great news! Congratulations, Cathy!!! I’m so happy for you.

  2. Lorraine Smith says:

    That was a lot of good news in one entry and worth waiting for. May it continue.

Leave a Reply

