What A Relief!

After so much bad news, I am delighted to share that yesterday’s PET scan came back with good results.  The tumor has shrunk by about 35%, and there are no signs of any new cancer.  It means that after just two cycles of chemo, I am seeing proof that this chemo regimen is effective on my type of cancer.

It was a huge relief.  I had almost convinced myself that I was going to get bad news, and was gearing up for it. I had nightmares all night about chasing down the lab report. My dr emailed it to me at 10 this morning, with the intro that it was good news and setting up an appointment to meet at 4pm to go over the next steps.

I never thought that I’d be so happy to hear that I would be doing more chemo, but Dr. S and her colleagues agree that doing another two cycles followed by another PET scan is the way to go.  Beyond that, there are still questions about radiation vs surgery. I don’t really care at this point. I’m taking it one step at a time.

We’ve made some interim decisions.  I will go ahead and get a new port installed in a few weeks (based on the point that my white cell count will be at its highest), which suits me as   I am having to flush the PICC line daily at home and there’s a concern about infection. I will also have a consultation with my radiologist to get him up to speed, and we’ve timed the next PET scan so that Dr S can bring my case to the Breast Clinic (where surgeons, oncologists, and radiologists all meet to discuss cases). I think that I am still considered to be an unusual case, and I am happy to have everyone’s opinion on my care as there is no protocol to follow.

So I am relieved beyond measure. I know that I probably have 10X more prayers coming my way this time, and maybe that’s what made the difference. I like to think so. Enjoy these lovely spring days!  I certainly am.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What A Relief!

  1. Deniese says:

    Cathy, I am so glad for your good news!! Keeping the prayers coming!

  2. Grace says:

    What a great relief! 🙂

  3. Lori says:

    I am happy for you. Keeping you in my prayers and looking forward to
    receiving some more good news from you.

  4. stacy cobb says:

    Your wonderful news made my day! I will keep the prayers coming.

  5. Raymond & Mary NYC says:

    So happy to hear that the second attempt is responding. Makes sense really … Even god didn’t get it right the 1st time around so his second attempt resulted in us ladies! Perfection 🙂 Keep up the work. Love from all in NYC

  6. nancy says:

    wonderful news Cathy!!! so happy to hear this…you are a true fighter and inspiration!!!

    keep up the fight –you are a hero to many!! oxox

Leave a Reply

