I Should Be Buying Lottery Tickets

I seem to be hitting every low odds, weird, extreme symptom or outcome with this damn breast cancer.  Triple negative, which is a less common form of breast cancer.  Extreme side effects to the Taxol. Recurrence after zero positive nodes when I had the surgery. Chemo resistant cancer.

And presenting the new problem du jour:  deep vein thrombosis.

DVT is a know, lesser side effect of the Avastin, but it can also be caused by the cancer itself. It all started with the PICC line. It was put in on Friday, I had chemo on Monday, and by Wednesday I knew that there was something wrong with it. On Thursday I had it removed, with a plan to put in a new one this coming Tuesday in time for my next chemo appointment.  But the pain didn’t go away, the swelling got worse, and I started to have massive bruising up and down my arm, shoulder, and chest.  Perhaps more telling, I had nightmares all night that something was wrong with my arm.  So blah blah blah, urgent care clinic on a holiday weekend, ultrasound, back to clinic, there’s a blood clot. Then a shot of blood thinner, two more tomorrow, starting on Coumadin on Tuesday when I’m due to get a new PICC line and my doctors are all back at work.

So maybe it’s time to start investing in lottery tickets.  I think that it’s time for me to start getting some fabulous payouts with this luck of mine, not just more and more diagnoses.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

