6 Down / 6 To Go

This week was the halfway mark for the Taxol. I’ve finished 6 treatments and only have 6 more to go. Then I am done, Done, DONE!

The Taxol continues to be much easier than the AC, but going every week is dreary and it does have its own set of side effects.  Things haven’t really gotten any worse, though, and it’s gotten pretty manageable.  The toes are starting to heal, but one fingernail has started to look dodgy…

One of the reasons that I haven’t updated recently is that Taxol has done a number on my hands, and typing isn’t that comfortable for me.  I’ll try to do better.

Otherwise, life continues onward.  I am finally beginning to feel like there is a light at the end of the tunnel, and am starting to prepare for life post-Breast Cancer.  There’s a book on the subject that’s been recommended by some folks in my support group.  A lot of folks say that they just don’t know what to do when their life isn’t completely taken up with doctor appointments and blood work and test results and worry.  I think that I need to start thinking about the life structure that I need to put into place to replace this one. I’ve been back in touch with a lot of old work colleagues, and I sort of refer to why I fell off the face of the earth as dealing with some family issues, and that my commitments will be done at the end of the year and then I’ll be ready to go back to work. I don’t much care about being secretive about the breast cancer, but I just feel this separates my professional and personal lives a bit.

The exciting news is that there appears to be some peach fuzz coming in on my scalp!!! It’s very fine and seems to be completely white blonde, so we shall see. I am still very resistant to head coverings, which I find to be very, very hot. I have taken to ripping them off in the car and driving bald headed. Who cares, eh? Although it has finally cooled down enough here that I wear a cap in the house in the evening, and if it gets much cooler, I’ll need one to sleep in.

So that’s all the news from here. Thanks for hanging in there with me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 6 Down / 6 To Go

  1. Debbie says:

    You need to come visit. I start decorating for Christmas next week and could use some help.
    : ) Love you much ! Take care my dear friend.

  2. Stacy Cobb says:

    You have made the home stretch. Think of you and bear hugs!

Leave a Reply

