Chemo 4

So two weeks ago I had chemo #4 – my last of the AC drugs.  I went into it pretty wiped out, and although my white count was just within the normal range, my red  blood count was low.  I had been warned that the effect was cumulative, and that this likely would  be harder than the previous ones, and it was.  More nausea, more lethargy, more just feeling lousy.  But when it got to Saturday and Sunday and I was still not feeling well, I was pretty unhappy.  Then I woke up on Monday and found out why.  I had a cold.  A nasty, stinking, nose constantly dripping, head exploding cold.  Followed on Tuesday by an eye that was swollen shut with conjunctivitis and a fever.  I called my oncologist, then went in for some eye drops and to get some blood work done.  She was ok with what my white count was doing (very low but on the upswing) and there was no sign of infection, so I just had to wait it out.  All I can say is that between chemo and the cold, I was almost totally wiped out for 2 full weeks.  My mom came down and I helped her with some letters, but beyond that, it’s pretty much been just laying low and taking it easy. If I owe you an email or a phone call, I will get to it soon.

Then today I met with the oncologist to discuss my next course of chemo.  I will be taking Taxol every week for the next 12 weeks.  This is supposed to be easier than the AC, but the two main side effects to watch for are joint and muscle pain, as well as neuropathy.  Oh, and the fatigue is just going to get worse.  But I’ll take a lot fewer anti-nausea drugs, and I won’t have to do the 7 days of shots at home post-chemo, so I’m happy.  I’ll be getting a bunch of Benedryl with tomorrow’s infusion, so maybe I’ll sleep through everything!

I am just about halfway through my treatment:  Surgery, followed 4 weeks later by AC chemo, which was 8 weeks ago.  Now, just 12 weeks of chemo to go and I’ll be finished.  Despite everything, it really is going by fast, and I can maybe see a light at the end of the tunnel.  If all goes as planned, I’ll be finished up just before Christmas.  That, and a clean bill of health, will be the best present ever.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chemo 4

  1. Grace says:

    Keep on fighting, Cathy! 🙂 We are behind you.
    Thank you for sharing your experiences. It’s encouraging to see your positive attitude in the midst of all these.
    Love,
    Grace

Leave a Reply

