Haircut Day

Exactly on schedule, starting at around day 12 and really hitting its stride at day 14, my hair is falling out.  It is coming out in handfuls.  It is falling into my face and under my glasses and into my knitting.  The eyebrows are mostly gone, as are the tiny hairs on my face, and on my arms, and just about everywhere else.  The hair on my head has thinned considerably, and my pillow looked like a dog’s bed this morning.  So, it’s time to call in the reinforcements and shave it all off. My sister and lovely niece came by and helped me. My sister cut and my niece took the photos.

Ready to go! You can see how thin it's gotten.

I do the first cut. Not quite Demi Moore in G.I. Jane, but what the heck.

This takes a long time!

She has wanted to do this to me since the day I was born. She even told me so before she started cutting!

The final product. A great job by my sister and niece, followed by a lovely lunch that they brought by for me.

Of course, I can always wear my new wig.

Or rock the Professor Quirrell look.

You know what?  It’s only hair.  It means that the chemo is doing its job, and I hope that it’s as hard on cancer cells as it’s been on hair follicles.  The second chemo has been a little tougher – more nausea, but still well under control.  Having my family be here for me through this has been amazing.  Thanks, Barb and Claire, and my wonderful chefs, Cecil and Kevin.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Haircut Day

  1. Ruth Dixon says:

    Without hair, a smile is even brighter. Thinking of, and praying for you Cathy. Love Ruth

  2. Fiona Dixon Redding says:

    Very cute look on you Cathy!!!! Love from Fiona

  3. Imelda says:

    You are very brave Cathy and have an attitude to be admired. Best wishes from all here

  4. Maureen says:

    Think of all the looks you can try out, long and auburn, dark and pixie, marilyn monroe blond bombshell…!? Or bald, what the heck….you are still beautiful and strong! Thinking of you,
    Love Maureen

  5. Debbie says:

    Even though the wig is a hot and itchy, it is really darn cute ! I like the Harry Potter look – hope the evil lord doesn’t come out of the back the scarf : )

  6. Louise Hallett says:

    Looking good Cathy!

    It was great to see you last week, sorry it was such a quick visit though. Glad the hairdressing session went well and the 2nd load of treatments too.

    On the plus side, you are half way through that cycle now, only 2 more to go! Hope you continue to feel ok.

    Love Louise

  7. Pingback: Catching Up | My Breast Cancer Journey

Leave a comment