Tubes and Trials

I had two appointments yesterday. The first was with my oncologist, Dr. S. She was delighted by the pathology report, and we went over the chemotherapy plans. I will start on July 26th, and will do a course of dense dose AC + T. This translates to Doxorubicin/Cytoxan every 2 weeks for 4 doses, then Paclitaxel once a week for 12 weeks. I am applying for a clinical trial as well, which would add Herceptin to the Paclitaxel for one year. It’s trial NSABP B-47, with info here:
http://www.nsabp.pitt.edu/B-47.asp
If I get in to the study, I would have a 50% random chance of getting the drug. During chemotherapy, I will be getting anti-nausea meds, Neupogen to bring my white blood count back up, and steroids to prevent allergic reactions. I already have the chemo port inserted, so the blood work and medication will be easier.

Like so much of this, it’s mainly the unknown that’s anxiety producing. Dr. S told me that I’m not likely to see all of the side effects (although the hair loss is pretty much a given) so I am just going to have to wait another two weeks to see. In some ways, the wait is good, since my eldest son has come home for a 2 week visit. It is so good to see him.

The second appointment was to finally get the damn drainage tube out. It didn’t hurt at all, just a weird tugging as she pulled the 12 inches out. The relief was pretty much immediate. I was able to sleep on my right side last night, and tomorrow I can have my first shower since June 28th! Woo Hoo! I image that those living with me will also welcome my return to full cleanliness. I was a bit more uncomfortable today, as there is a slight build up of pressure across my chest, but overall I feel much better. I’ve been walking again, and although my arm is stiff, I think that I am much better off than a lot of other folks with how much motion I have at this point.

So, a little respite from things for a few days, then back into the full battle. Thank you to everyone who has been sending me emails and notes. They really brighten my day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

