Lab Report

I saw the PA yesterday who removed all of the dressings (HURRAY!!!) but decided against removing the drainage tube since I am still putting out a lot of fluid.  I was surprised to find out exactly where the tube is located:  It comes out  from beneath where the outer edge of my breast was (almost below my underarm), goes straight up almost to the level of my armpit, then it crosses over what looks like my pectoral muscle and ends at right on top of the breastbone.  I can see and feel it just below the skin.  Yikes!  Pulling that out is going to be fun. But if it means that I can finally take a shower again, I’m ready.

There were two interesting things at the appointment.  First off, I got my final lab report.  Of the 6 lymph nodes removed, all 6 of them were clear of cancer.  One of them had a hemangioma, which I asked about.  It seems that it’s like a cherry angioma, or a little red freckle like I have all over my body.  It’s completely benign – I just didn’t know that you could get them internally as well.  The final tumour size was  3.5 x 2.8 x 2.8 cm.  I need to ask the oncologist next week if it had really grown that much or if this was more in the nature of a difference in measurement.

Then the PA pulled out all the paperwork for post-mastectomy gear.  I was able to go down today and pick up 2 camisoles that have a pocket for a little fake breast (just like a cushion, not meant to be a real prosthesis) and a pouch to carry the drainage tube in.  I was feeling quite lopsided once the dressings were removed! In 6 weeks, I can go back and get fitted for mastectomy bras and a real prosthesis.  It was great to hear that these are fully covered by my medical plan.

Today was really the first day since surgery that I’ve felt pretty good.  I may still take a nap, but I don’t have that bone crushing tiredness today.  I’m only taking medication at night. although it hasn’t really done all that much for me.  It wasn’t like I was in a tremendous amount of pain, though, so it’s pretty tolerable.

So, up to visit my dad this weekend, then on Tuesday I see Dr. LS, the oncologist, and my eldest son comes home for 12 days.  I’m looking forward to both events.  Despite chemo being another unknown and a bit scary for me, I know that I can get through it.  Like always, I’d rather face things as soon as possible and get it over with instead of stewing and worrying about it.  And it will be good to have Andrew home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lab Report

  1. Grace says:

    Thinking of you. 🙂
    love,
    Grace

  2. Debbie says:

    You are an inspiration to all of us. You need to move this along so we can head to England and visit Ally…. She needs us to embarrass her ! Binoculars, tweed and funky hats? Good show, mate !
    I’ll send you some of the Bob Marley Mellow Drink. What a hoot !

Leave a Reply

