More Preparation

Several years ago, I was given a CD by Belleruth Naparstek (you can listen to it online  here) that was designed to prepare you for surgery and to help heal afterwards.  I found it very relaxing, and indeed, the healing section helped tremendously with pain management after I had my knee replacement surgery.

So I’ve pulled out the CD again and have been listening to the entire thing to relax and prepare.  But I’ve run into a bit of a problem.

Chapter 2 is guided imagery for surgery.  It starts well, imagining you are getting ready for the surgery, that you are surrounded by strong, competent medical staff.  So far so good.  But then it takes you into imagining the surgery itself, and how successfully it’s going.  And this just jolts me right out of any relaxation. I was fine with imagining that they were doing repair work, like a knee replacement.  But for the mastectomy, this brushes right up against the fact that they are amputating a part of my body that is diseased.  A very visible, cherished, friend.  And although I chose the mastectomy, I believe that it is the right decision, and  I am fully prepared to wake up and have it gone, I cannot imagine the surgery.  They are slicing off my boob, and imagining them actually doing it is just too hard.

So I’m going to skip chapter 2 and just use the rest of the tracks, where I can imagine waking up post surgery and being positive about it, I can imagine healing and mentally chasing down any remaining cancer cells, and I can reaffirm that I am a healthy, strong person.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Preparation

  1. The Huang Family, Jeff, Catherine, Cynthia, Eric, and Elliott says:

    After reading through your journal, we admire your courage and positive attitude. We all have our tasks that God assigns us, and we have faith that He will lead us out of trouble. We pray for your successful surgery and quick recovery.

  2. Grace Lin says:

    Hi, Cathy,

    What a shock to hear about this. What’s happening in this world?? Cancer everywhere. As you’ve probably known that both of my parents went through cancer related surgeries. My mom just finished her chemo…. 😦

    But, I’m glad to see that you have a very positive attitude toward this. Go Girl!!!! 🙂 Like you said, we can’t choose what we are given in life, but we can choose how we react to it. You’re doing the right thing.

    From one patient to another: There will be moments of utter aloneness. Don’t be alarmed. The better days will come. You will get through it.

    Thank you for sharing. Let’s keep in touch.

    much love,

    Grace

  3. Carol Chen says:

    Dear Cathy, my Fighting Girl:

    Sorry to hear the news! …. I was wrote a letter incompleted but suddenly disapeared by pressing a key maybe …. Be Strong, be Happy , be Possitive! We know you will be a strong fighter! I always belived that ” Happiness is the BEST healling medication to all ” ! Amanda went through her challenged stages and becomes a healthy strong lady …. She is 14 now and will attend her Monta Vista high this year! Trust youself that you can make it! We will wait to see your good recovery after your successful surgery tomorrow! Fighting!!! 加油!!!

Leave a Reply

