Waiting and Getting Ready

I’ve spent the past few days pretty quietly.  I am just waiting and hoping for a surgery date next week.  I’ve been able to spend some time with my dad.

There are a few things that I’ve done to get ready.  My husband reached out to his network of friends and hooked me up with a local chapter of the American Cancer Society.  Thanks to them, I am now in possession of a wig, free of charge.  My two younger sons helped me pick it out. The youngest seemed a bit uncomfortable with the process – I don’t know that he realized that my hair would fall out, and that I’d want a wig to feel comfortable going out certain places.

Someone in my online support group recommended front fastening sports bras from Walmart to begin with.  They were cheap and it won’t matter if they get stained.

My mom helped me pick out a prayer shawl, so I will be able to go through my treatment with a lovely, cozy shawl knit by her with love and good wishes.

My oncologist sent me an email to see how I was doing and if I had any questions.  She followed it up with a call to the house, but I was out and she was pretty cagey with the message she left with the kids.  I think that’s a patient privacy thing.  My regular doctor also called to check in on me.  She let me know that she’s only a phone call away.

There has been so much support from my family, my medical team, and our extended friends.  It really does help.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waiting and Getting Ready

  1. Renee says:

    Hi, Cathy,

    This is Renee, Cecil’s cousin. Remember me? I visited your house shortly two years ago. I am sorry to hear your sickness, and glad you are so brave to face it with confidence. You will beat it. Keep happiness, you’ll go throuhg all this.

    Renee

  2. Debbie says:

    I hope you opted for the “Flock of Seagulls” style wig. Time for a retro look.

Leave a Reply

