Bad Timing

This week, I saw a job online that looked like a really good match for me at a great company.  At the urging of my family, I sent my resume to the recruiter.  I didn’t really expect to hear back – after 9 months of unemployment, I am a little sour on recruiters.

However, on Thursday I got a request to come in on Friday for an interview.  After asking my career counselor friend and my online BC support group for advice, I went ahead.  The interview went well, and when the hiring manager talked about next steps and timelines, I just jumped in and said that I needed to discuss my availability.  I said that I had a commitment and wouldn’t be available for 3-6 months, possibly part time in 3 months.  The reply was a simple, “That’s good to know” and we moved on to other topics. He did mention that one of the next steps was likely to be an all day interview with a lot of different people.  All I could think of was trying to do this with the mastectomy tubes hanging out of me, or when my hair is gone.  I had to swiftly shut down those images and agree that that would be fine.

Whether or not I go further with this job, it was a positive thing for me to go and interview.  I don’t want to work post-mastectomy and through the first round of chemo, as the AC dense dose is supposed to be pretty difficult and I’ll be getting it every 2 weeks.  The Taxol is weekly, but seems to be a little easier to tolerate.  I think that when I do go back to work, I want to be able to give it 100%, and I don’t know that I’d be able to during treatment.

We shall see.  At this point, I can only believe that what is meant to happen, will.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bad Timing

  1. Ed says:

    Tough call. When Patty was diagnosed we decided to put our lives on hold. We were house hunting at the time and put it on hold… Patty was job hunting… on hold… we didn’t know how Patty would be feeling and after the first chemo we realized that we needed to literally put our lives on hold and just ride it out and focus everything we had on her recovery. This decision isn’t for everyone, but it was the smart thing to for us, and her, to do. I guess a lot just depends on how you’re feeling. Patty had TAC which is a very powerful chemo and her infusions were every 21 days. It took a good 18 days for her to feel good after the infusions. Everyone is different. You may just fly through your chemo, and I truly hope you do!

    It is good to know that they’re interested!

    Patty and I are pulling for you and yes… you’re still on our prayer list!

  2. Willy says:

    I agree with Ed’s suggestion that “on hold”. I had worked for many people who suffered from different kinds of cancers. They reported some unexpected bodily and psychological responses after the surgery/chemo/radiotherapy. Various change will be noticed and time is needed to adapt and adjust. Even though you may not have any side effects, fatigue will be one of your great adjustment. If the job offers you with no stress-related activities, it is okay to take it. However, as you want to give it 100%, I wonder if the stress may ultimately be come from your own. Stressors are harzadous to your health at this stage. Take less stress as much as you can. It is enough to go trhough the treatment process. Take time to ponder what makes you want to take the job. Finanical burden? Re-capture your self-worth after a substantial period of not working? Pattern of not self-care? No matter what is/are your final reason(s), take your health as the first priority. It is suggested you to take the interview and if they hire you, tell them you need to consider and finally decline the offer. Of course, this suggestion is given to prove your competence and your previous unemployment was due to the external environment. Take care. I assure you that I will pray for your decision made.

    Willy

  3. Debbie says:

    You are remarkably talented and skilled. This is a short time concern for an employer. They would be crazy to not pursue you. And, if they are put back on their heels by this, they aren’t a good company to work for.

Leave a Reply

