Sharing the News

I have been busy sharing my news, and have gotten through the hardest discussions, which were with my mother and then my three sons.

Although it was difficult for her to hear, I feel like my mum took it very well, and being able to follow up with the good news from the scans helped a lot.  She is busy sorting out my green scapular and will be giving me one of the prayer shawls she has knit.  I am so relieved to have told her.

I told my eldest son via Skype on Sunday, and the younger two yesterday when the older one got home from university.  They took it well, and it’s nice not to be hiding all of the doctor appointments and tests that are going on from them.

I’ve also emailed or talked to some of my former colleagues from my pre-layoff days, as well as some of my other relatives.  I cannot believe how wonderful the responses have been.  I’ve joined the “Knitters with Breast Cancer” group on my favorite web site – Ravelry – and have just been swamped with the most amazing and practical support imaginable.  A former co-worker’s wife who is a 5 year breast cancer survivor met me for coffee yesterday and offered me great advice and help during chemo.  I am feeling so very surrounded by support from everyone.

In treatment news, I am first on the cancellation list for surgery, so I am ready to go at a moment’s notice.  I finished all of the pre-op and pre-chemo work today – echo, ekg, chest x-ray, and the pre-surgical check up.

And because summer has finally arrived in Silicon Valley (it’s 92F outside) and in anticipation of surgery and chemo, I cut off all my hair today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sharing the News

  1. Willy says:

    Nice hair look. Yes, you are surrounded by prayers and supports, from now until the day you recover. You are not going through the treatment process alone. Support and prayer from people around indicates your love to them in the past as well as the human nature that we care when someone is going through the difficulty. Cathy, keep up and pray for your peace in heart.

    Willy

  2. Joseph says:

    We will all be praying for you.

    Take care.

    Joseph

Leave a Reply

